About the Book Awards

Submissions for the 2021 Awards are now welcome

The Awards: Celebrating excellence in photography and moving image publishing

The annual Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards recognise individuals or groups of individuals who, in the opinion of the Judges, have made an outstanding original or lasting contribution to the literature of or concerning the art and practice of photography or the moving image. Two winning titles are selected; one in the field of photography and one in the field of the moving image (including film, television and digital media). 


Submissions for the 2021 Awards are now welcome. Books must meet the following criteria:

  • The book must be published between 1 January and 31 December 2020. The copyright date on the colophon determines the publication year. If a book was published in late 2019 but its release and availability for sale was delayed due to the pandemic, it may still be eligible for the 2021 awards. Please contact info@kraszna-krausz.org.uk to discuss submission.
  • The book must be published, distributed or available to buy (including online) in the UK.
  • Non-English language books must be accompanied by an English language translation of all text. English language translations first published within the qualifying period are eligible.
  • Submissions in the Photography Book award category must contain a significant textual element (image-only books are not eligible).
  • Submissions are welcome from publishers, authors, collectives and individuals self-publishing their work. Self-published titles must have been released in a minimum print run of 100 copies.
  • Publishers may submit up to eight different titles.
  • New editions of books are eligible. However, reprints or revised books should have a significant amount of new material, and the original or earlier editions should not have been previously long-listed for the awards.

Full terms and conditions for the 2021 Kraszna-Krausz Awards can be downloaded below.

2021 Award Timeline

Submissions to the 2021 Awards are now welcome.

The deadline for entry is 17 January 2021.
For further information, please download the submission form and terms & conditions (see below).

The Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards take place annually. The call for submissions is issued each Autumn and the deadline for submission of forms and book copies is in January.

The long and shortlisted titles are usually announced in March, and the winners are normally celebrated at an event in May. The date and format of the 2021 Awards event will be confirmed in the new year.

This year, due to the Covid pandemic, the awards have taken a different format. Please see the 2020 Book Awards page for more information.

How to enter

Submissions for the 2021 Awards are welcome from publishers, authors, collectives and individuals self-publishing their work. There is no entry fee.

If you would like to enter a book, you will need to do the following:

  • Read the Terms & Conditions below
  • Complete the submission form below
  • Supply a digital sample or pdf of the book
  • Supply 5-7 high resolution files (including the book cover)
  • Send 3 hard copies of the submitted title (once eligibility is confirmed).

Send the form, pdf and images to info@kraszna-krausz.org.uk, with ‘2021 Awards’ as your subject line by the 17 January 2021.

Larger files can be sent via wetransfer with the book title and publisher’s name included in the link information box.

How will the books be judged?

The judging panel will consist of three internationally recognised experts in their specialist fields. There are separate panels for the photography and moving image awards. Previous judges have been drawn from the worlds of fine art, photography, film, galleries, museums, academia and publishing. The 2021 Award judges will be announced in January. The names of previous judges can be found here.

In the opinion of the judges, winning books should make a significant contribution to the art, scholarship, history, research, criticism, science or conservation of photography or the moving image. In addition to the visual and written content, submissions are judged on the standards of production, format and design.

From the total submissions, a long list of ten books is selected in each category by the judges. This is then reduced to shortlists of three, from which two final winning publications are chosen. The author/s or editor/s of each winning book receive a £5,000 cash prize.